This is a staging forum for AgileBits, not an official support forum. Visit http://discussions.agilebits.com instead.

Making bootable clones & encrypting only important files

<div class="IPBDescription">How secure are sparse images</div>Hi,

I know what you recommend when it comes to bootable system clones which is to encrypt the sensitive files and leave the system unencrypted, and after having experimented with PGP Whole Disk encryption, I agree with you. For most homes users that should be good enough, and WDE can create some serious issues. But I was wondering how secure are sparse images relative to whole disk encryption like that provided by PGP. The reason I'm asking is, when I create a full external drive, 2TB, as a Knox vault, it only takes a few minutes to make a password protected vault out of it. But when I encrypt a 250GB external drive with PGP WDE, it takes over six hours. I'm not an expert in encryption, but why are sparse images created so quickly?

Wassili

Comments

• khad
    khad Social Choreographer
    edited February 2011
    Hey Wassili,

Are you comparing PGP's Whole Disk Encryption on your active system drive to a creating a Knox vault on a newly formatted external drive? That will make all the difference in the world since encrypting an active drive is much more intensive. I can't speak to the exact process that PGP uses, but Knox uses the Encrypted Disk Image technology built into OS X.

I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have further questions.
  • Hi Khad,