This is a staging forum for AgileBits, not an official support forum. Visit http://discussions.agilebits.com instead.

worst upgrade ever

Duane Williams
Duane Williams Junior Member
edited September 2011 in 1Password 3 for Mac
[color=#000000]This was one of the worst upgrade experiences I've had. After installing the new version 3.9, it would not read my old password database. [b]It failed with no explanation.[/b] Exploring the user forum, I discovered my database had to be moved to the top level of my Dropbox; so I moved it. 3.9 still failed to open it. Further exploration revealed that the problem might be due to a file permissions issue. I had to open Terminal and issue an arcane command to fix the problem. I'm no ordinary user. I'm a retired computer programmer. However annoying, I can deal with these kinds of problems, but I feel sorry for users who have never dealt with the Terminal command line. This was not a user-friendly upgrade by any means.[/color]

Comments

• hmurchison
    hmurchison Junior Member
    Some of these issues are precisely why i'm excited for the potential of iCloud for syncing. Once you get away from

a folder metaphor for syncing you neatly sidestep problems caused by nested folders or permissions issues.

I will still use drobox for keeping whole files in sync but I see things become a two headed hydra with iCloud for the often

synced data and dropbox for those secondary files that need to be synced but not multiple times a day because of changes.
  • Ben
    Ben AWS Team
    Hi Duane,

I just wanted to chime in here and say I'm sorry that the upgrade experience was not smoother for you and I'm glad to hear you got it working.